Posted on

Quorn blimey I never knew that!

Following the succesful launch of one spin-off from my main blog a couple of weeks ago I thought I’d add yet another one to the roster. This one is called With Just A Hint Of Learning. The companion blogs are With Just A Hint Of Mayhem and With Just A Hint Of Amelia.

The offshoot you are reading has been on my mind for some time and will most likely feature many small posts, sometimes perhaps more than one per day. The principle is that it is often said that ‘you learn something everyday’ or ‘the day I stop learning is the day I die’ Personally I subscribe to both of those sayings and this is what this particular blog is all about; it will be just a random collection things that I have learnt. Unlike my other two blogs this one is unlikely to have much music related stuff in it. Many of the things that I learn and post about in this blog you may already know but feel free to participate with comments anyway.

So, have I learnt anything today? Indeed I have. I wasn’t aware until this morning that the meat substitute Quorn is actually named after a village called Quorn in Leicestershire, reputedly for purely marketing purposes. It was created by Marlow Foods in 1985, which was named after the Rank Hovis MacDougall offices in Marlow, Buckinghamshire. Incidentally I lived in Marlow for nearly 16 years!

About justwilliam1959

I've been on the planet for a more than half a century and I've lost all my hair but not my enthusiasm for life, my wife, reading and music! I started my first blog; With Just A Hint Of Mayhem in February 2009. In May 2011 I began two sister blogs to that first one; With Just A Hint Of Amelia and With Just A Hint Of Learning. A while later I also added the more random Stars In My Glasses to the family :-) Feel free to check them all out and let me know what you think!

2 responses to “Quorn blimey I never knew that!

  1. Nic ⋅

    I love useless yet interesting facts which are actually never useless as you can use them in conversations to sound clever and interesting!

    • justwilliam1959 ⋅

      Nic, I’ve always loved useless information and facts. I guess I started this blogs as a means of remembering some of those useless pieces of trivia as I get older and my memory goes. Hmmmmmm now what was I saying?

Leave a Reply

