Posted on

More tea, said the tabloid journalist to the vicar

With all the fuss surrounding the demise of the UK tabloid rag the ‘News Of The World‘ there was bound to be some snippets of newspaper history worthy of inclusion in this blog. So here goes with my favourite. Before Rupert Murdoch bought the News Of The World tabloid newspaper historian Chris Horrie likened it to ‘the saucy seaside postcard, full of dirty vicars‘ Anyone reading it at the time must have thought that vicars were the only people in the country who ever got any bedroom action.

This may have been the case. However the reason that the UK tabloids featured so many stories about dirty vicars is something that I never knew before today. There was apparently a loophole in the libel law at the time which meant that vicars could not sue!

About justwilliam1959

I've been on the planet for a more than half a century and I've lost all my hair but not my enthusiasm for life, my wife, reading and music! I started my first blog; With Just A Hint Of Mayhem in February 2009. In May 2011 I began two sister blogs to that first one; With Just A Hint Of Amelia and With Just A Hint Of Learning. A while later I also added the more random Stars In My Glasses to the family :-) Feel free to check them all out and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

