Posted on

Keep Taking The Tabloids!

Many of us, well certainly me anyway, despise the tabloid press and feel quite vindicated that the screws are finally turning on them in the light of the recent phone hacking scandals. However did you know where the word tabloid came from? I didn’t!

Sir Henry Wellcome the Pharmacist and Entrepreneur was the person who invented the word Tabloid when he trademarked it in 1884. It was used to describe medicine in tablet form. The word was used by Burroughs, Wellcome and Co; a company set up by Sir Henry with his friend Silas Burroughs in 1880. The company was among the first to manufacture and sell medicine in compressed tablet form. Prior to that medicine was mostly used in much bulkier powder form.

The word became linked in popular language with anything that was reduced in size for easier consumption. The phrase tabloid journalism first appeared in 1901 some 17 years before the name was actually applied to a newspaper itself.

And finally, enjoy some classic tabloid headlines which might even contain a tiny element of truth. Did you know they have removed gullible from the dictionary?

About justwilliam1959

I've been on the planet for a more than half a century and I've lost all my hair but not my enthusiasm for life, my wife, reading and music! I started my first blog; With Just A Hint Of Mayhem in February 2009. In May 2011 I began two sister blogs to that first one; With Just A Hint Of Amelia and With Just A Hint Of Learning. A while later I also added the more random Stars In My Glasses to the family :-) Feel free to check them all out and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

