Posted on

It’s all a load of baubles and baubles to it all!

christmas-tree-decor-ideas-1-554x554

Aren’t scientists clever and don’t they contribute amazing and life changing things to the way we live? well the answer is generally yes and yes. However scientists, or boffins as the tabloid press call them, at Sheffield University have just completed a complex mathematical study for us. It’s nothing to with prolonging life or saving the planet nor is it the answer to life, the universe and everything. We know the answer to the latter is 42 anyway. No what these intellectual super brains have done is to offer a mathematical calculation for how many baubles to put on your Christmas tree.

formulaslarge

How wonderful is that? Doesn’t your life feel so much more enriched? Our Christmas tree this year is likely to be around 6ft, so call it 180 centimetres and that means we will need 37 baubles, 565cm of lights, 91cm of tinsel and of course 1 angel or fairy. I wonder if the angel remains constant or whether you need half an angel for a 90cm tree? Which half would you choose? Apparently this mathematical model is being used by Debenhams in all their stores this Christmas. Of course if you can bring yourself to read the story in the scummy UK tabloid – The Sun then click here.

Is that his baubles I can see?

Is that his baubles I can see?

If Christmas wasn’t stressful at the best of times I’m now worried about whether our tree will have the optimum number of decorations or whether it will be somewhat over baubled! i would be interested to hear you views and in case I don’t post on this blog again this year have yourself a very happy, yet optimum, Chrimbo!

cool-Christmas-Tree-Dalek-Doctor-Who

funny-Christmas-tree-Japan-Godzilla

About justwilliam1959

I've been on the planet for a more than half a century and I've lost all my hair but not my enthusiasm for life, my wife, reading and music! I started my first blog; With Just A Hint Of Mayhem in February 2009. In May 2011 I began two sister blogs to that first one; With Just A Hint Of Amelia and With Just A Hint Of Learning. A while later I also added the more random Stars In My Glasses to the family :-) Feel free to check them all out and let me know what you think!

One response to “It’s all a load of baubles and baubles to it all!

  1. Pingback: Christmas Baubles from The Books of The Dead | Poetic Mapping: Walking into Art

Leave a Reply

